SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING REVIEW

Wow, okay how do I start this one… 

Spider Man was the first movie I’ve ever seen on the theatre when I am a child (I still remember that scene where I was so afraid of the green goblin πŸ˜‚), so it has a special significance in my heart. I love Spider man, my favorite, along with Captain.

Now let’s talk about his Homecoming movie. 

I entered the cinema without any expectations, me only watching the main trailer so as to shock myself of any unanticipated dope moments. 

Well, there weren’t many.

The only moment I really gripped my armrest was when the elevator almost fell with Liz in it. Painfully reminded me of how Gwen died on the last movie, and I was also kind of bitter because he was able to save her this time. I miss my Gwen so much πŸ’”

This version of Spider man was juvenile, he has that excited teen spirit, indeed still a Stark Intern, which is a new taste from the older movies. I know the actor is young, but I thought the character would be more matured.

His suit got upgraded, of course that’s what Stark Industry do best, Spidey got his own AI now *presenting Suit Lady*: Karen, he can fly a bit, and the spider logo in his chest can also now come to life and do the extra work.

I think it focused more on projecting the moral of the story than Spidey’s heroic actions, and I got it clear, really, the message is important most specially for the younger teenagers today whose struggling to find their worth. Peter has still a long way to go, and his point of view that he’s no one if he don’t get in the Avengers was addressed very well. I loved that he made mistakes through out the first half, showing that it is okay and it is necessary to be better. In the end he turned down Tony and accepted the fact that he still has a lot to learn before he officially become an Avenger. 

I got teary eyed on that scene where he got home crying to aunt May, feeling defeated from messing up on the ferry. That may be the most honest and heartfelt part on the whole movie, oh and the one on the last where he saved Michael Keaton.

Quick points about the movie:

  • Tom Holland did a great job + he’s so handsome for his age! 
  • Zendaya cracked me up every single of her air time πŸ˜‚
  • The first Aunt May in all of the Spider man movies who didn’t look like a grandmother πŸ˜‚
  • Peter and Karen’s banters. 
  • Let’s talk about how daddy-material Tony is on this movie, aaah he looked dashing, whether in suit or not. I love his not-so-showy affection for Spidey.
  • Tony and Pepper’s emergency wedding proposal πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ˜‚πŸ˜
  • Spider man’s newest suit, the one on that last part, was dope!
  • I am in love with the credits, aesthetically appealing, very classical feels. 

Quick complaints:

  • I somehow felt like it was (kind of) lacking of web shooting scenes, which is his very own trademark. Sorry, I was not so satisfied of the many ones shown, although that one on the plane was impressive.
  • He’s becoming so modernized I’m afraid that he’ll become someone we couldn’t recognize anymore. I hope not. 
  • Quite a boring first half.

I am sure that this won’t be the last for Tom Holland in Spider Man, so I hope to see maturity and improvement in his character in the next coming movies, + hopefully Peter and MJ.
All in rating: 7/10

πŸš€πŸ¦

Leave a Reply

